Gospel of the Horns – Awakening

The year is 1995 and I have just returned home from the post office with my hands full of padded envelopes containing underground gems. It didn’t happen as often as I would have liked to but sometimes my post office box really made my day by being full of parcels I had ordered from some godforsaken place and then containing a note telling me I had even more stuff at the counter because it just didn’t fit in!

Back then I was pretty new to the underground of Metal music and had just ventured outside the safety of store bought Metal magazines into the jungle of fanzines, catalogs and fliers. One of the blind purchases I made based solely on how the flier looked and what it said was for Gospel of the Horns‘ “The Satanist Dream” demo. I sent my money out to Shane Transvaal and a week or few later my tape made it to the shores of Iceland.

“What’s with the story, grandpa?” you might be asking yourself now. Well, unlike then if I want something now I can get it now. I don’t have to wait for weeks to get my stuff. Take this video for instance. Made by Jael Edwards, the singer for Australian Death Metal crew Ignivomous, and I can take it straight from his YouTube channel, paste the url into some thingimageny here and voila; a new post is born! Great stuff, huh? Well, if you want the real thing, which is still available at Invictus, then you do have to wait a bit but in my experience the good folk there can’t wait to ship an order out once it’s all ready.

photo taken from https://www.facebook.com/gospelofthehorns
text by eyvindur gauti

Published by

One thought on “Gospel of the Horns – Awakening”

Leave a Reply

