skaðvaldur

Skaðvaldur is a local artist that has so far worked with bands and artists like Under the Church, Sinmara, Misþyrming and Andfari. Currentzz felt it was necessary to introduce this up and coming local artist to more people so a few questions were sent his way and here are the results!

So, what got you started?

What initially sparked my interest in the arts which I now adhere to, was in the year 2010 when I bought a copy of Slayer’s “Show No Mercy” on CD in a local music store. At that moment I thought to myself: “I can probably make something like this cover!” The later discoveries of Chris Moyen, Christophe Szpajdel, Dan Seagrave, Paolo Girardi and Mark Riddick greatly shaped the style I’ve adapted to myself, even though it isn’t incredibly original. That’s besides the point! It wasn’t until a year later when I finally did a design for a band. It was a pencil drawing for the band Blood Feud. That drawing has not been posted online for the fact of how well and safely I put it away (doesn’t neccisarily mean it’s lost!). 2012 – 2013 was the exact starting point of my creative “carreer” when I drew a logo for the death metal band Narthraal, as well painted the cover artwork for their EP release “Blood Citadel”.

Who have you worked with so far?

The following artists/projects I’ve worked with so far are Under the Church, Naðra, Narthraal, Grit Teeth, Skuggsjá, Sinmara, Misþyrming, Hellripper, Andkristni festival, Rats of Reality, Obscure Lupine Quietus, Hideous, K.Fenrir, Beelzebub and of course Andfari. There are more projects in the making which won’t be revealed until completion, except for the Italian old school death metal band Horrid, which I’ve been commissioned to paint the cover artwork for their upcoming new album.

skadvaldurart

Tools of the trade?

The tools of my trade happen to be quite simple. Most of the time I use Sakura and Artline pens, preferrably sizes 0.05, 0.2 and thick markers from the same brands. When it comes to painting I use Winsor-Newton acrylic paint. I have yet to muster up the courage advancing to oil paint, but it will probably happen eventually. I also work a bit with the programmes Photoshop CS6 and Adobe Illustrator for support, but my knowledge to use them isn’t the greatest.

What’s next?

I can’t say what awaits me other than continuing to draw and paint for the occasional band or just myself and other things in the future. I see this much more as hobby than ever a profession since I do this all in my spare time aside from work and other duties. However, this is something that brings me immense joy to be able doing, that is to see the fruits of my labour being of good use to someone else and appreciated, aswell as being able to be at least a small part of the music scene here in Iceland. Aside from art, I dabble a bit in music. Mostly fiddling around playing on my guitar cheesy 80’s heavy metal, ice cold black metal or a filthy slab of death metal.

I don’t think I have anything further to say at this point except thanking the great support I’ve gotten from all you dirty deadbeats and sick fucks, not to mention the great interest I’ve been given in my art up to this point! Rot and roll mother fuckers!

Published by

Leave a Reply

